I chose to use Weebly as the location for my website because I hadn't used it before.  I house my classroom website on blogspot and my personal website on wordpress, so I thought I would try Weebly out.  I was also encouraged by the fact that I could easily add new pages to the initial site to help with organization.  After having used the site for the semester, I am pleased with how well the site works.  I would like to be able to change the fonts and have a little more flexibility in design, but it is serving its purpose.  I plan to continue to use this site to house my portfolio. 

I have found that the most challenging part of keeping a website is expressing my creativity.  I am not sure how I want to design my website so that it expresses who I am without making it too personal.  I don't want to share too much about myself since it is a public website, but I also want my intended audience to know who I am and what I have learned through my graduate studies experiences.  I am hoping that as I continue through the program I will find more resources and information to post, and will find a way to engage my reader using more visuals. 


The most beneficial part of creating my website was having the opportunity to experiment with the layout and having to create different sections and make certain posts.  This has helped me think about how I want to organize my website for future use.  As I continue through the program, I can continue to add to sections that I have already created, and I imagine I will create new pages for each new course I take, in order to share what I have learned.  I think the course will determine how much information I post, but even a culminating project would be beneficial to post to show my learning progress through the program. 





Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I am a currently a long-term substitute teacher who is certified to teach both special education and general education.  I am beginning my coursework at Michigan State University to earn my Masters in Teaching and Curriculum.

    Archives

    April 2012
    March 2012
    February 2012
    January 2012

    Categories

    All