This semester I read Action Research: Teachers as Researchers in the Classroom by Craig A. Mertler (2009).  As I was writing my action research paper, I appreciated the examples that Mertler provided throughout the text.  The chapters were organized so that readers could walk systematically through the action research process.  Mertler provided concrete examples of research questions that helped me focus my action research question. 

     What I found most helpful were his descriptions and definitions of data collection.  He clearly explained the difference between quantitative and qualitative research, along with the kinds of data collection that go with each type of data.  His examples helped me determine which kind of research I was conducting, and what kind of data collection would be most appropriate to use.  Mertler also provides information about how to analyze and interpret results once the data collection period was over.

     Mertler’s text was easy to understand.  He defined many commonly used research terms and included many examples to help his readers understand the entire action research process.  I felt that Mertler had a lot of experience with research and his experiences allowed him to explain how to avoid common mishaps that may occur while conducting research.

     In general, I would recommend use of this text in future classes.  It was not a very engaging text, but it served its purpose.  I think it works well as a reference guide for writing action research, and as I write more of my action research paper, I will be referring to it more.  Because I had prior experience conducting action research, I felt that the first few chapters were a bit long, because information was repetitive, but I think the information would be useful for someone who has never conducted action research. 

     My biggest complaints about this text were the additional supports that were available.  Resources such as videos and Power Points were available online, but I did not think they were useful, nor did I feel they helped expand my learning.  I initially listened to/looked over the information, but later I felt like I was misusing my time; I stopped looking at the additional resources after the third or fourth chapter.  I don’t think the supplemental supports added anything to what the text already offered.

     The outside articles that we used throughout class this semester have been helpful.  I found the articles to be relevant and applicable to my current learning.  Many of the articles helped expand on the learning I was doing through Mertler’s text; the articles provided more examples of real life situations with which I could connect what I was learning.  Overall, I’m glad I had the opportunity to read Mertler’s text and the other articles that were provided for this course. 

Reference:

Mertler, C.A.  (2009).  Action research: Teachers as researchers in the classroom (2nd

      ed.).  Los Angeles:  Sage Productions




Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I am a currently a long-term substitute teacher who is certified to teach both special education and general education.  I am beginning my coursework at Michigan State University to earn my Masters in Teaching and Curriculum.

    Archives

    April 2012
    March 2012
    February 2012
    January 2012

    Categories

    All